Site Menu
BOOKS, eBOOKS, MEDIA
Book & eBooks
Films, Videos & Audio
Can't Find a Book at the EdCC Library?
ARTICLES & DATABASES
Search the library databases
Off Campus Log On
Can't Find an Article?
RESEARCH HELP
Research Basics
Developing a Topic
Video Tutorials
Plagiarism
Resource Guides
Citation Guides
Ask-a-Librarian
ABOUT THE LIBRARY
Hours & Location
Library Collections
Mission|Vision|Goals
Library Staff
Library Guidelines
Technology
Art in the Library
Community
CWU Library
SERVICES FOR STUDENTS
Find your textbook
Borrowing Materials
Study Areas
Group Study Rooms
Technology
CWU Students
SERVICES FOR FACULTY
@ Your Library
Instruction
Information Literacy
Collection Development
Borrowing Books & Media
Reserves
Faculty Resource Center
Printable Version
|
The Edmonds CC Library has excellent print and electronic resources to support instruction and student learning. At our website, http://www.edcc.edu/library you will find:
- Over thirty research databases with full-text periodical articles, reference works and eBooks
- Library catalog (containing a description and location for all library print and audio-visual materials)
- Links to selected academic resources that support information research
- Information about library hours, services and contacts
- Ask a Librarian 24X7 Research help for your students
Library Hours for 2012-2013 |
Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
*WHAT'S NEW IN THE LIBRARY?*
Group Study Rooms Online Sign-up System |
Students must now reserve a 3rd floor group study room online using their EdMail account.
They can access the sign-up calendar through the library website or at the sign-up kiosk in the library.
Additional information on our student group study rooms can be found on the Services for Students page.
Weeded Print Book Collections |
We have recently weeded several areas of our Reference and Circulations collections, and are now in the process of updating the subject areas with new materials in both print and online formats.
If you have questions about your subject area, please contact your division liaison librarian.
*ONGOING SERVICES FOR FACULTY*
Information Literacy, Our #1 Goal |
Planning a Library Instruction Session?
Beginning the second week of each academic quarter, library instruction sessions are taught by library faculty at the request of faculty members who would like their students to gain knowledge about library services, library research systems and information literacy skills. We encourage you to include library assignments in your course outline and work in partnership with a librarian in planning instruction sessions in the library. Prior to bringing your students to the library, instructors are asked to sign up at least one week in advance by calling Johnetta Moore at 425-640-1639 or emailing her at johnettamoore@edcc.edu.
For suggestions on planning a successful library instruction session, go to the Library Instruction tab and the Information Literacy resource guide.
Bringing or Sending Your Students to the Library as a Class?
Please notify Johnetta Moore at 425-640-1639 if you plan on bringing or sending your students to the library as a group, so that we can work with you to ensure that the services and resources needed by your students will be available to them during that time and to provide a positive library experience for your students.
In addition, when you use the classroom with your students, please remember:
- Bottled water only in the classroom
- Turn off the overhead projector and log off of the instructional computer
- Remind students to log off of the computers and straighten up their area before they leave.
- Check in with Reference desk staff before leaving
Information Literacy, Our #1 Goal
Information literacy (IL) is an essential component within Edmonds CC’s College-Wide Abilities and is key to successful life-long learning. Knowing when information is needed, locating appropriate information rapidly, evaluating it, and using it effectively are vitally important for today’s students as they live and work in an increasingly information-based society. It is crucial that instructors work with the librarians to plan assignments that reinforce the processes of research. For more go to http://edcc.libguides.com/info_lit/
Chronicle of Higher Education |
Did you know the library has a subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education, specifically to support faculty? To access the Chronicle anytime, go to the library’s Articles and Databases page.
If you are off-campus, you will need your staff ID number and your last name to access the Chronicle and other library databases.
Resource Guides |
Resource guides are online, interactive guides providing easy access to library and other resources, such as streaming videos, podcasts, and websites.
Course-specific guides are customized to your class and linked to your Blackboard class, such as this one for Art 100
Guides support college events, such as this one for the Edmonds CC Read.
Guides also provide professional development to faculty, such as Getting Results
The full collection of guides can be found on the library website under Resource Guides.
If you would like a librarian to create a guide or want to learn more, contact Meryl at meryl.geffner@edcc.edu.
Course Reserves |
You are encouraged to place required materials, especially textbooks, on Course Reserve. In this tough economy and with textbook prices so high, many students depend on accessing their textbooks in the library.
To expedite processing, please go to the Reserve page and complete and submit the Reserve Form with your requests to Lurana Culligan at 425-640-1530 or lculligan@edcc.edu.
Please note that at the start of the quarter, it may take up to 48 hours to process reserve requests. Please make sure your books are actually on reserve before sending your students to the library to check them out.
DVD-Video Holds |
You can now go into the Library Catalog and place a hold on any number of DVDs or videos for your class. You can do this at the beginning of each quarter or anytime during the quarter and pick them up at your convenience. The procedures are located on the Borrowing Books & Media page.
Copyright Questions |
Please contact Lauri Kram, Edmonds CC Copyright Officer, at 425-640-1522 or lkram@edcc.edu
Faculty-Student Tutoring Room |
LYN 415A in the library is available for full and part-time faculty to meet with students for tutoring or one-on-one consultation. The room does not contain a computer but Wi-Fi is available. A reservation is required. Please contact Jan Tuff at jan.tuff@edcc.edu or 425-640-1146 to schedule use of one of these rooms.
Materials Request |
Your input is necessary for building an excellent collection reflecting diverse points of view. The librarians want your suggestions for library materials that will support your instruction. Please take some time to review the materials in your subject area. Your division liaison librarian can work with you to identify those materials in the library collection. You can find the contact information for your current library liaison on the Collection Development page.
*STUDENT RESOURCES, SERVICES AND TECHNOLOGY*
START (Student Technology Advice & Resource Team) |
START (formerly Room 305 in the library) is a student led resource that will assist students with navigation and use of existing Edmonds CC technologies. For more information about the services they offer, visit their Google site here.
Student Video Lab |
The Student Video Lab has been moved from LYN 207 to LYN 415B. Students may reserve use of the Lab through the Sign Up sheets on the door of LYN 415B and may check out the key to the Lab by showing their EdPass at the Library Circulation Desk. The Lab is now open evenings and weekends and is open the same hours as the Library.
Blackboard Help |
The Learning Support Center located in MUK 113 offers Blackboard help during the first few weeks of each quarter. Students who need technical help with Blackboard can contact the Blackboard Online Support Center at 1-866-886-4854 (toll free).
24/7 Research Help |
We have expanded our reference services to students to include 24/7 chat, along with our email, phone and in-person reference. Students have access to round the clock research assistance. Students can log in through the Ask a Librarian link (http://www.edcc.edu/library/contact/ask.php) on our library homepage anytime – day or night – and get help from a librarian with their research questions.
Self Service Scanning & Photocopiers |
A self-service scanner is available for students to scan assignments that need to be submitted in digital format or to scan documents required for academic purposes such as registration or financial aid. Photocopiers are available for students to copy Course Reserve or Reference materials.
Photocopiers are available for students to copy Course Reserve or Reference materials. Students must add funds to their EdPass to make copies.
Laptop Computers on Loan |
8 lap top computers, funded with TIMC funds, are available for students to check out from the Circulation Desk for In-Library Use.
For a printed copy of the above information: Faculty Newsletter Fall 2012.

@ Your Library
Loading...
