Current Edmonds College students, faculty and staff can access these databases from off-campus using their Triton ID.
1. Go to the Edmonds College Library website
2. Under Library Resources, click on the Books, eBooks, Articles & Films link and search alphabetically or by subject for the database you wish to use (ProQuest, etc.)
3. Click on the name of the database and a login page will appear asking for your Triton ID and password (see example below). Faculty and Staff - Please login using your campus credentials (firstname.lastname/password; please note that some faculty and staff may have a network username that's 8 characters long, typically first initial and 7 characters of their last name).
If you have any question, use the troubleshooting page or ask a librarian.
If you are a current Edmonds College student or employee and cannot access one or more of the Library's databases from off-campus, try these troubleshooting tips for possible solutions:
1. Links: Make sure you are using the direct links from the Library website (don't use bookmarks or copy/pasted URLs).
2. Current students only: You must be a currently enrolled student to access Library Databases. If you are on a waitlist or it is in-between quarters, you may not be able to access until the quarter has started and you have a class on your schedule.
3. Reset Password: If you have entered your Canvas username and password correctly and still cannot access the Library Databases, please reset your Triton ID password.
4. Firewall: Check firewall settings. Your firewall or other anti-virus systems must be set to allow the databases access to your computer.
5. Cookies: Make sure that your browser is set to accept cookies. Use the Help section of your browser or search the internet for instructions for the browser you are using. After checking this setting, clear your history and cache, close your browser, and then attempt to log in again.
6. Get Help: If none of these troubleshooting options work for you, please let us know by using the Submit a Question form and a Librarian will get back to you.
7. Firewall software protects your computer from hackers and viruses. Unfortunately firewalls can also block some types of web access in the process of maintaining a high level of security. Your firewall or other anti-virus systems must be set to allow the databases access to your computer. To find out how to do this, contact the tech support service for your anti-virus company.
8. A cookie is a packet of information that allows the Online Resource to identify you as a current Edmonds College student or employee each time you access the Resource. Your computer must be set up to accept "cookies" as this is a requirement for the off-campus access process.
If your computer does not accept cookies, you will need to set it so that it will permit cookies to be placed on your computer. You can sometimes do this through the "Preferences" or "Internet Options" link on your browser (e.g. Netscape, Internet Explorer, etc.) If you are unsure about how to do this you may want to contact your computer service provider.
If your computer does accept cookies, you may have some existing cookies that are interfering with the login process. One solution may be to delete all your cookies, close your browser and then re-open it and try again.
9. Some Internet Service Providers (the company you use for Internet access) may have a customized version of the Internet Explorer browser or other restrictions that cause difficulties accessing Online Library Resources. We suggest you contact your Internet Service Provider for information on their security settings.
If none of these options work for you, you may contact us 425-640-1472, and we can test your login information and try some internal troubleshooting for you.
PLEASE NOTE: The Library can only resolve problems within the Library computer system. We cannot resolve problems with personal computers and Internet Service Providers.