Legal Resources: Westlaw Database

Use the WestlawNext database to access a broad array of legal resources including:

•  decisions from all federal and state courts since 1789 
• all federal and state statutes 
• 41 state administrative codes
• articles on court decisions and statutes from American Law Reports
• over 600 law reviews and journals
• American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia. 

A "Campus Help Guide" in PDF form are included at the bottom of the initial login screen.

Edmonds College Library also has a powerful legal database called Westlaw which can connect you with legal primary sources and secondary legal sources in an extremely accessible format that you would otherwise have to pay to use. As part of your Paralegal Program, you will learn how to effectively search Westlaw to find relevant primary and secondary legal materials. 

To access the databases from off campus

Current Edmonds College students, faculty and staff can access these databases from off-campus using their Triton ID.

1. Go to the Edmonds College Library website

2. Under Library Resources, click on the Databases link and search alphabetically or by subject for the database you wish to use (ProQuest, etc.)

3. Click on the name of the database and a login page will appear asking for your Triton ID and password (see example below). Faculty and Staff - Please login using your campus credentials (firstname.lastname/password; please note that some faculty and staff may have a network username that's 8 characters long, typically first initial and 7 characters of their last name).

If you have difficulties accessing the resources, try our troubleshooting tips for possible solutions or contact me or chat with a librarian 24x7.