Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 115/DivSt 115: Sociology of Gender, with Susanne Bohmer: Find Articles

Use a database to find articles

Search for articles in magazines, newspapers or journals in the databases listed here.  Many articles are available full-text and can be printed, saved or emailed.

Searching a database

Creating a search strategy

When you are searching ProQuest or Academic Search Premier, your goal is to get a reasonable number of articles that address your research topic.  Some tips: 

•  Before you start, examine your research topic, and write down some keywords, such as names, places, events, publications, political or social movements, ideas, etc.

•  Use the Advanced Search feature in the database and combine at least two keywords. 

•  Try different combinations because you'll find that some combinations work better than others.  Be sure to combine words that make sense.

Some examples:

•  gender AND homeless* AND discrimination

(The * is called truncation.  In this example, the truncation sign tells the database to find articles that have variations on the word, homeless.  Using this your results will include the articles with the words, homeless and homelessness.)

To ensure that you find only articles from Academic Journals

√  Check the box called Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Other ways to focus your search:

√  Check the box that will limit your results to full-text articles only

√   Define a date range (for example: 2000 to 2011)

√   Use their "Suggested Topics" or "Find More Like This" feature.

Academic Journals

Below are academic journals which focus on gender issues.  Many of the journals have the full text of their articles available online for you to read and print.  Some only have a citation and abstract.  You can search within each publication for information on your topic.  For an example of how to search within a publication, click on the arrow in the Find Articles tab and then on the drop-down window titled How to Find Academic Journals or click here.

American Journal of Sociology
Citation and abstract in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

American Sociological Review
Full text articles in ProQuest
Citation and abstract in Academic Search Premier

Feminist Studies
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Gender Issues Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Gender & Education
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Journal of Sex Research Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Journal of Gender Studies
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Sex Roles
Full text articles in ProQuest
Citation and abstract in Academic Search Premier

Politics & Gender Full text articles in ProQuest

Signs Citation and abstract in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Race, Gender & Class Full text articles in ProQuest

Studies in Gender & Sexuality Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Social Problems
Full text articles in ProQuest
Citations and abstracts in Academic Search Premier

Berkeley Journal of Gender, Law & Justice
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Women's Studies Full text articles in Academic Search Premier

Journal of Women's Health & Gender-Based Medicine
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier

Journal of Social Issues
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier
Citations and abstracts in ProQuest

Social Forces
Full text articles in Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Scholarly vs. Popular

Do you know the differences between magazines and scholarly (or academic) journals?  Watch this short video from the University of Arkansas Library.