Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC SCI 155: Intro to Undergraduate Research: Find Articles

Need more help searching databases?

Can't find an article through the Edmonds databases?

Use the search tools below to find academic/scholarly articles beyond our library.

Search a database for articles

Search for articles in magazines, newspapers or journals in the databases listed here.  Many articles are available full-text and can be printed, saved or emailed.

Keyword searching in a database

When searching a periodical database, like ProQuest or Academic Search Premier, your goal is to get a reasonable number (around 50) of highly relevant articles.  To do this, use the Advanced Search feature to combine keywords (names, places, events, ideas, synonyms, etc.) specific to your topic.  Before you start your search, examine your research topic, and generate a list of keywords to use and combine in your searches.  You'll find that some combinations work better than others, depending on the database.  Be sure to combine words that make sense.

Some examples:

"genetically modified food" AND health

"online social networking" AND (bullying OR cyberbullying)

There are other features in the databases the help focus your searches.  You can:

♦ Check the box that will limit your results to academic journals only

♦ Check the box that will limit your results to full-text articles only

♦ Define a date range (for example: 2002 to 2012)

♦ Use their "Suggested Topics" or "Find More Like This" feature

For more help and suggestions, look at the tutorials in the box on the left.