Skip to main content
Seattle and King County History
Black Student Union at UW: Black Power on Campus, 1968
Source: University of Washington
King County Snapshots
Presents King County, WA, through19th and 20th century images portraying people, places, and events in the county.
Seattle Municipal Archives
The Municipal Archives documents the history, development, and activities of the agencies and officials of the City of Seattle.
Seattle Neighborhood History Project (SPL)
This site provides a starting point for accessing historical information about Seattle neighborhoods.
Seattle Public Library Special Collections on Seattle
This collection consists of digitized documents, photos, maps, directories, postcards and more
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
This web site explores Seattle's civil rights movements with video oral histories, photographs, documents, movement histories, personal biographies, and more.
Pacific Northwest History
Third Monroe Street Bridge (1911), Spokane, 1930s Postcard. Source: HistoryLink
Historic Washington Newspapers: 1852-1892
These newspapers include materials that reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times.
Pacific Northwest Historical Database
This collection (diaries, letters, political documents, reminiscences) recounts the early settlement of Washington, the establishment of homesteads and towns, and describes the hardships faced by the early pioneers.
This online encyclopedia of Washington state and local history makes available primary and secondary sources.
Audible Moments in Northwest History (KUOW)
Vintage recordings bring to life historic events from the region's past.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Includes over 1,000 photographs, documents and oral history interviews relating to the history of ethnic groups in Washington, Oregon and Idaho, from 1860 to the 1980s.
Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Project (UW)
Presents maps, films, slide shows, nearly one hundred video oral history interviews, and several thousand photographs, essays, documents, and digitized newspaper articles.
Lewis & Clark Journals
From 1803-1806, Lewis and Clark's Corps of Discovery mapped their journey to the Pacific Ocean and back, describing the lands, natural wonders, and encounters with the people of western North America.
Washington State Digital Archives
Provides access to digital records of state and local government, including land records, photographs, census records, marriage/ birth/death records and more.
Early Washington Maps (WSU)
Spanning 300 years, this collection includes maps of sea and land faring explorers.
Library Reference Desk: 425.640.1472 | Chat online: Ask-a-Librarian