Skip to Main Content

Social and Human Services Resource Guide: Articles from Newspapers, Magazines and Journals

Finding Articles in Our Library Databases

Below are the core and multi-disciplinary and health-related databases selected specifically for your research. 

You may also search the library's entire collection using our OneSearch search engine.  

Most articles are in full-text format but there are some that are only available as abstracts.  If you would like the full-text version of any article, you may use the WorldCat database to request an article or contact the Reference Librarians.  ‚Äč

If you are have difficulty understanding the scholarly articles, use the Reading and Understanding Scholarly Articles resources. For search strategies and tips in using the databases, use the Database Search Tips tutorial below.  You can also view the EBSCOhost Advanced Searching tutorial on this page for help in searching the 

Evaluating Sources to Find Quality Research

Portland Community College Library, Source: YouTube

SHS Core Research Databases

Additional Databases

Mutli-disciplinary

Key CYFS Journals in our Databases

Off-Campus Access

Current Edmonds College students, faculty and staff can access these databases from off-campus using their Triton ID.

1. Go to the Edmonds College Library website

2. Under Library Resources, click on the Books, eBooks, Articles & Films link and search alphabetically or by subject for the database you wish to use (ProQuest, etc.)

3. Click on the name of the database and a login page will appear asking for your Triton ID and password (see example below). Faculty and Staff - Please login using your campus credentials (firstname.lastname/password; please note that some faculty and staff may have a network username that's 8 characters long, typically first initial and 7 characters of their last name).

Triton ID example s.student1234 and password

If you have difficulties accessing the resources, try our troubleshooting tips for possible solutions or contact me or chat with a librarian 24x7.