Primary Sources - HIST032 - U.S. History I - Resource Guides at Edmonds Community College

FEATURED RESOURCE**

The ProQuest New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

ProQuest Historical New York Times Newspaper

Historical Primary Sources

100 Milestone Documents of United State History
National Archives and Records Administration - Provides 100 milestone documents, that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965. (from the website)
American Memory - US History
Library of Congress - Digital collection of primary sources documenting United States history.
Digital History
Cited as: Mintz, S., & McNeil, S. (2015). Digital History.
This is an educational and non-commercial site designed specifically for history teachers and their students.
Copyright Disclaimer: The materials included in the Digital History website are original works of authorship, government records, works for which copyright permission has expired, works reprinted with permission, or works that we believe are within the fair use protection of the copyright laws.
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and cultureCarolina Digital Library and Archives, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
History Matters Project - Primary Source Documents and Historian Analysis of American History
City University of New York and George Mason University- Contains 1,000 primary documents in text, image, and audio that emphasize the experiences of “ordinary” Americans throughout U.S. history. (from the website)
The Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Online
University of Nebraska-Lincoln - Makes available the text of the celebrated Nebraska edition of the Lewis and Clark journals, edited by Gary E. Moulton.. (from the website)
United States Historical Eras - Primary Documents
The National Archives Experience DocuTeach - Thousands of primary source documents...from the billions preserved at the National Archives. (from the website)
American Memory U S History - Thanksgiving Primary Sources

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are original documents and objects created during a period of time in history or after an event has occurred by someone who participated in that event. Primary sources can be

Written: letters, diaries, journals, court decisions, literary works and memoirs

Visual: posters, maps, paintings, photographs

Objects: clothing and tools

Oral recordings: interviews and speeches

Below are some great resources for finding primary source documents.

HIST032 - U.S. History I: Primary Sources

FEATURED RESOURCE**

Historical Primary Sources

What are primary sources?