Resource Guides: Edmonds College Community Read: Big Burn: Teddy Roosevelt and the Fire that Saved America: The People & Issues

1910 Fire

The West is Burning Up
Stories and eyewitness accounts of the 1910 fire, from in Evergreen Magazine, Winter Edition 1995-1996
Flame and Ruin: The Fires of 1910
Series from the Spokesman-Review
When the Mountains Roared: Stories of the 1910 Fire
eBook from the Forest Historical Society
Tales of the 1910 Fire
Pamphlets and paintings from the Archives & Special Collections of the University of Montana-Missoula Library
The Great Fire of 1910
From Montana Outdoors, the magazine of Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
1910 Fires
From the Forest History Society

Conservation Movement

In the EdCC Library
American Environment; Readings in the History of Conservation
Call number S930.N36
Our National Park System: Caring for America's Greatest Natural and Historic Treasures
Call number SB482.A4R48 1995
Dreamers & Defenders: American Conservationists
Call number S926.A2S7 1988
National Parks: America's Best Idea
Six part documentary from Ken Burns
In the Library Media Collection
Call number E160.N385 2009
Websites
Evolution of the Conservation Movement 1850-1920
American Memory project from the Library of Congress with documents detailing the formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage.
National Parks: America's Best Idea
Website accompanying the PBS documentary by Ken Burns
Mapping the National Parks
American Memory project which documents "the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks."
National Park Service
Official website for the National Park Service

Theodore Roosevelt & John Muir

Roosevelt and Muir at Glacier Point,
Yosemite Valley, California
Source: Encyclopedia Britannica Online

In the EdCC Library
John Muir: Nature's Visionary
Call number QH31.M9E47 2000
John Muir: My Life with Nature
Pre-College Collection
Call number QH31.M9A3 2000
Son of the Wilderness: The Life of John Muir
Call number QH31.M9W64 2003
Theodore Roosevelt: Man of Action
Call number E757.B38 1991
Theodore Roosevelt, the Naturalist
Call number QH31.R72C8
Websites
John Muir Exhibit
From the Sierra Club
John Muir National Historical Site
From the National Park Service
National Parks: Theodore Roosevelt
Theodore Roosevelt Center
TR. The Story of Theodore Roosevelt. TR's Legacy

General U.S. History

In the EdCC Library
On the Trail of the Buffalo Soldier: Biographies of African Americans in the U.S. Army, 1866-1917
Call number U52.O5 1995
Victorian America, 1876 to 1913
Call number E168.S55 1996
Atlas of American History
Call number
A people's history of the United States : 1492-present
Call number E179.5.N37 2007
World History in Context
Database with articles, essays, and encyclopedia-like entries
Environmental Encyclopedia
Electronic book
Websites
American Memory
From the Library of Congress

Forests & Forestry

In the EdCC Library
Old Growth in a New World: A Pacific Northwest icon Reexamined
In the EdCC Library
Call number SD387.O43O545 2009
Fire Ecology of Pacific Northwest Forests
Call number SD144.A13A55 1993
Conserving Forest Biodiversity: A Comprehensive Multiscaled Approach
Call number SD411.L56 2002
Websites
US Forest Service
Pacific Northwest Region | U.S. Forest Service

Search for books, ebooks & films

Search the library catalog:

Search a database for articles

Search for articles in magazines, newspapers or journals in the databases listed here. Many articles are available full-text and can be printed, saved or emailed.