Resource Guides: Early Childhood Education (ECE) Resource Guide: Finding Academic Articles

Search for everything

Use One Search to find books, articles and films in one search.

NOTE: After entering your search terms, click the "Search" button to generate your results. Do not use the "Enter" key on your keyboard.

Logging on from off-campus:

Current Edmonds College students, faculty and staff can access these databases from off-campus using their Triton ID.

1. Go to the Edmonds College Library website

2. Under Library Resources, click on the Books, eBooks, Articles & Films link and search alphabetically or by subject for the database you wish to use (ProQuest, etc.)

3. Click on the name of the database and a login page will appear asking for your Triton ID and password (see example below). Faculty and Staff - Please login using your campus credentials (firstname.lastname/password; please note that some faculty and staff may have a network username that's 8 characters long, typically first initial and 7 characters of their last name).

If you have difficulties accessing the resources, try our troubleshooting tips for possible solutions or contact me or chat with a librarian 24x7.

Can't find articles through our library?

World Cat/OCLC

Use the WorldCat-OCLC catalog to search for books and articles in libraries throughout Washington State (and worldwide). We can request an item for you through Inter-Library Loan (ILL) and have it sent to Edmonds College library for you to pick up. (A TIP: ILL can take up to two weeks for a book to arrive so start your research early!)

Search Individual Education Research Databases

Use these databases to research topics and issues specific to the fields of Education.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Education Research Complete
Covers curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties

Search Other Individual Databases

Search these databases for articles covering multiple subjects but include topics related to the field of Education.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database with articles from over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,650 of those titles
ProQuest
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers, including 16 Washington State newspapers, and the New York Times

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer-reviewed journals, Nursing/Allied Health trade publications, and Evidence Based Care Sheets. Limited to four simultaneous users.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and conference papers, as well as ebooks, covering all sociological subjects

Looking for specific ECE journals?

Below is a list of some Early Childhood Education journals you may want to use for your research. You will see that articles from some of them are available using our databases; others are available on the publication's website.

Early Childhood Education Journals in the ProQuest Database:
- Childhood Education Full text: Feb 1988 - Nov/Dec 2014

- Early Childhood Education Journal Full text: Mar 1997 - present (delayed 1 year)

- Journal of Research in Childhood Education Full Text: 1997-2009

- Topics in Early Childhood Special Education Full Text: 1997-2010

Early Childhood Education articles available on publishers’ websites:

- Exchange: The Early Childhood Leaders' Magazine

- Voices of Practitioners

- Teaching Young Children

- Young Children

To obtain full-text copies of articles not in the databases or on websites in full-text, please contact your librarian at the Ask a Librarian service.

WorldCat/OCLC