Skip to main content
The U.S. federal government has a comprehensive collection of financial aid information and resources, including websites for locating scholarships. Below are some resources for finding scholarships offered through US Government agencies.
U.S. DOE Student Financial Aid Scholarships Web page
Scholarship web page for studentaid.ed.gov, the federal goverment's “official student gateway to federal financial aid, including eligibility, application, repayment, and more”.
Human Resources Services Admin. Nursing Scholarship Program
This scholarship is given in exchange for a minimum 2-year service commitment at a health care facility with a critical shortage of nurses. The scholarship includes tuition eligible fees, other reasonable costs such as books, clinical supplies, instruments and uniform. Monthly stipend is approximately $1,330/month.
CareerOneStop - U.S. Department of Labor’s FREE scholarship search tool
Search more than 7,000 scholarships, fellowships, loans, and other financial aid opportunities
Foundations, Companies, and Associations
Below are just some examples of scholarships that have specific requirements in order be considered for certain scholarships. These may include academic performance, talent, financial need, religious affiliation, ethnic or racial status, heritage, state or local residency, business, organizations or community affiliations, and/or other criteria that the organization providing the funds chooses to use in selecting the award recipients.
American Chemical Society - ACS Scholars Program
African-American, Hispanic/Latino and Native American students who are pursuing, or intend to pursue, bachelor’s degrees in science related majors. High school seniors, community college students and college freshmen, sophomores or juniors. Application period is November 1 through March 1 annually.
American Indian Graduate Center scholarships
Applicants must be pursuing a master, doctoral, or professional degree as a full time student at an accredited graduate school or pursuing an undergraduate degree as a full time student at an accredited undergraduate school or a high school senior planning to attend an accredited undergraduate school. All applicants must demonstrate financial need and be able to demonstrate personal enrollment in a federally recognized American Indian tribe or Alaska Native group, or possess 1/4 degree verifiable federally recognized American Indian blood.
Army Women’s Foundation Legacy Scholarship Program
The Army Women’s Foundation Legacy Scholarship Program provides grants to women soldiers, past and present, and their lineal descendants to help them attain their educational goals. The Legacy Scholarship Program offers financial support in four areas: Certificate programs, Community College coursework, Undergraduate Degrees, and Graduate Degrees. Scholarships are awarded only for coursework from accredited institutions. Scholarships are based on merit, academic potential, community service, letters of recommendation, and need. See website for details.
Asian and Pacific Islander Scholarship Fund
Scholarship opportunities for Asian and Pacific Islander American students. See site for details and application deadlines.
Association of American Indian Affairs Scholarships
AAIA scholarships are open to students enrolled in federally recognized, state recognized, and tribes not recognized by the federal government that are located in the continental U.S. and Alaska. All AAIA scholarships are for students enrolled full time both fall and spring semesters. Full time students are typically described as having 12 credit hours per semester. See website for details.
Biella Foundation Scholarship
Biella Foundation is a Redmond based non-profit that provides grants for disaster relief, education and social services. Apply by March for Spring 2017. Seven $1500 scholarships will be awarded based on academics, community service, and financial need. Minimum GPA of 2.5.
Dollars for Scholars programs in Washington State
The purpose of Dollars for Scholars is to expand access to higher education opportunities by involving and assisting our community in the support of students and in the encouragement of educational achievement.
Dr. Flowers MCAT Scholarship (Latino)
For pre-medical student Latino Medical Student Association members. Register on-line as a Pre-Medical LMSA member, demonstrate a history of leadership and/ or service to the Latino Community, and be in good 10 academic standing at your undergraduate institution. Look at website for the eligible schools and next application dates.
Fisher House Foundation Scholarships
Scholarship programs for members of military families, including Scholarships for Military Children, Heroes' Legacy Scholarships for children of fallen or disabled veterans, and Scholarships for Military Spouses.
Gates Millennium Scholars Program
For 20,000 outstanding students of color. Promoting Academic Excellence + Providing Opportunities + Reducing Financial Barriers
Graduate Women International - Fellowships and Grants
Check site for funding availability for undergraduate study.
Hispanic Scholarship Fund
The nation’s largest provider of college financial aid to Latino students.
Hostelling International USA
Explore the World Travel Scholarships: HI USA believes that travel should be as much about making a difference in the world as it is about seeing it. Scholarship recipients receive $2,000 to help finance an international trip that must include an educational or volunteer/service component. See website for more information.
The Human Rights Campaign Scholarship Database: LGBTQ Student Scholarship Database
This database lists scholarships for LGBT & allied students from numerous funders. Choosing "Washington" returns 40+ scholarships.
Illustrating Awesomeness Scholarship
This is a scholarship opportunity for young women or gender non-conforming individuals of color who are actively working to change the world. See website for details.
Independence for Washington State Foster Youth - Education and Training Voucher Program
The ETV Program is a national program for youth who qualify and are likely to age out of the foster care system to help them attend accredited colleges, universities, vocational, or technical colleges. Maximum award is $5000 annually. Check site for application details.
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholarship
Supports outstanding community college students with financial need to complete their bachelor's degree at four-year colleges and universities. Students must be nominated by EdCC. Please contact Edmonds Community College faculty member Robin Datta for more information on the application process at email@example.com. Check site for application details.
The 1000 Dreams Scholarship for Women
The 1000 Dreams Scholarship provides one-time educational assistance for currently enrolled high school or college-aged women throughout the United States. This can include assistance for needs including but not exclusive to: educational conferences, instructional programs related to creative or artistic pursuits, graduate exam application fees, or textbooks. This scholarship is not to fund tuition. The intention is to provide access to educational opportunities beyond tuition. See website for details.
P.E.O. Sisterhood - AO Chapter
Offers the following funding options for undergraduate women: Educational Loan Fund (ELF) for students within two years but more than four months of graduation; Program for Continuing Education (PCE) for returning students; and the STAR merit-based scholarship for high school seniors entering college. Check site for each program's details.
Passport to Careers Program
Students must have spent at least one year in foster care in Washington state after their 16th birthday, be emancipated from care on or after January 1, 2007, enroll at least half-time in an eligible college by their 22nd birthday, maintain Washington residency, and be working toward earning their first bachelor’s degree, associate degree, or certificate in a subject other than theology.
Phi Theta Kappa Common Application
Phi Theta Kappa partners with colleges, universities, and foundations to provide $87 million in multiple scholarship opportunities, which have varying application deadlines. Please contact Edmonds Community College faculty member Robin Datta at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Pride Foundation (LGBTQ)
Must be a high school senior or college student. Applicants must be a resident of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon or Washington but may study elsewhere. Preference is given to students who are self-identified LGBTQ, members of LGBTQ families, or straight allies who have been strongly supportive of the LGBTQ community. All scholarships emphasize demonstrated commitment to equality and civil rights for all people. Over 50 scholarships by filling out just one application. Check site for application details.
Seattle Association of Educational Office Professionals Scholarship
All interested and qualified male or female students graduating from a Seattle Public High school students who wish to continue their education at a 2 year or 4 year college or vocational school may apply for this $500 scholarship. Check site for application details.
Formerly United Negro College Fund; administers numerous scholarships for students of color and low-income students. See site for details and application deadlines.
Walter H. Meyer - Garry L. White Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is directed specifically to returning adult students who are either attending or prepared to attend a 2- or 4-year public or private university, at the graduate or undergraduate level. If attending at the undergraduate level, the applicant must be over the age of 24. If attending at the graduate level, the applicant must be over the age of 30. Check site for next application announcement.
Note: Please search Washboard.org for current information if link doesn't take you straight to the listing.
Washington Financial Aid Association Ethnic Awareness Scholarships
Available to students of color enrolled in a WA state college. GPA 3.0 or higher, show leadership. Application period is usually August-September for the school year that starts that fall. Check website in future for information.
Washington State Opportunity Scholarship
The Washington State Opportunity Scholarship helps low- and middle-income Washington state residents, including community college students, earn their bachelor’s degrees in the high-demand fields of science, technology, engineering, math and health care. Check site for more information.
$1500 scholarships for community college students who are WSECU members (Washington State Employees Credit Union). The current program is closed. Check back in December for the 2020 program information.
Library Reference Desk: 425.640.1472 | Chat online: Ask-a-Librarian