Resource Guides: Child, Youth, and Family Studies Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) Degree Program: Scholarly Research Articles

Understanding the Different Types of Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Literature Types: Scholarly Literature Types
Cornell University Library
Types of Scholarly Articles
Eastern Washington University Libraries
Library Research Support: Types of Scholarly Articles
University Libraries, Western Michigan University

Scholarly Research Databases Tutorial

Key CYFS Journals in our Databases

Child & Family Social Work
- Full Text: 01/01/1998 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Early Childhood Education Journal
- Full Text 03/01/1997 to present (with delay)
Family Relations: Interdisciplinary Journal of Applied Family Science
- Full Text: 01/01/1980 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
International Journal of Early Childhood
- Full Text: 01/01/2004 to present (with delay)
Journal of Child & Family Studies
- Full Text: 03/01/1997 to present (with delay)
YC: Young Children
- Full Text: 01/01/2007 to present
International Journal of Child, Youth and Family Studies
Open Access Journal
Available from 2010.

Evaluating Sources to Find Quality Research

Finding Scholarly Research Articles in Our Collection

Below are the core and multi-disciplinary and health-related databases selected specifically for your CYFS research.

You may also search the library's entire collection using our O neSearch search engine.

If you are have difficulty understanding the scholarly articles, use the Reading and Understanding Scholarly Articles resources. For search strategies and tips in using the databases, use the Database Search Tips tutorial below. You can also view the EBSCOhost Advanced Searching tutorial on this page for help in searching the

Topic Development and Database Searching Tips
This tutorial is now a pdf document and should be accessible from Microsoft/Google/Apple devices.

CYFS Core Research Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines on education topics
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. This version of ERIC provides links to full-texts articles in the EBSCO databases.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals and magazines on the subjects of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative database offering comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study

Gale Academic OneFile
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers, and multimedia

Additional Databases

Mutli-disciplinary

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost database

Gale Academic OneFile
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers, and multimedia

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer reviewed/scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.

Legal

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Legal resources including decisions from all federal and state courts since 1789, all federal and state statutes, 41 state administrative codes, articles on court decisions and statutes from American Law Reports, law reviews and journals, and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia

Health, Healthcare Research

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost database
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, magazines and newspaper covering nutrition, women's health, sports injuries

Gale Health and Wellness
Articles from medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more